University of Toronto Radio Inc.                                    Memorial University, St. John's
Wednesdays at 5 pm ET                                                 Wednesdays at 1 pm NT

Sugar Camp Music
The Radio Program with Steve Fruitman

Sugar Camp 42 - December 5, 2012
2012 Porcupine Awards
Hear the Piecast
M3u files

Check out the 2012 Porcupine Awards
Check out the Porcupine Award Categories
1. MATT MASTERS: Oh Saskatchewan
2. SUZIE VINNICK: The Honey I Want
3. MARGARET CHRISTL: Lady Franklin's Lament
6. DAVID GOGO: Slow It Down
7. THE BILLS: Blackberry Ivy & Broom
8. ART NAPOLEON: You Really Got A Hold On Me
9. MENDELSON JOE: I Am Canuckian
10. WHITEHORSE: Peterbilt Coalmine
12. SLOCAN RAMBLERS: Shakin Down The Acorns
13. BARNEY BENTALL: L'Anse Aux Meadows

Mac Beattie Award

1. MATT MASTERS: Oh Saskatchewan (M Masters)
All-Western Winners: Sloth Records - no serial no.
John Ellis - Pat Steward - Rob Becker - Kendel Carson - Angela Harris
Calgary AB
Produced by John Ellis - 2011
Recorded and Eric Reed at Nashcroft Manner, Ashcroft BC
Mixed by Eric Reed at N A L Studios, North Vancouver
Mastered at Suite Sound Labs, Vancouver
www.mattmasters.com or mailto:mattmastersmusic@gmail.com

Lenny Breau Award

2. SUZIE VINNICK: The Honey I Want (S Vinnick / D Leask)
Me 'N' Mabel: SV004
Toronto ON
Produced by Danny Greenspoon - 2011
Recorded by Danny Greenpsoon at The Canterbury Music Company, Toronto
Mixed by Danny Greenspoon at The Audio Truck Inc.
Mastered by David Travers-Smith at Found Sound
http://www.suzievinnick.com/ or mailto:suzie@suzievinnick.com

Classic Canadian Album

3. MARGARET CHRISTL: Lady Franklin's Lament (Trad)
Looking Towards Home: Logan's Line Records - LLR 3529
Ron Casat - Chris Crilly - Mansel Davies - Gaye Delorme - Rick Fenton - James Keelaghan - John MacIsaac - Michael Moore - Jim Morison - John Munro
Calgary AB
Produced by Les Siemieniuk - 1984
http://www.mgl.ca/~jhcole/mc/mcHome.html or mailto:simonchristl@hotmail.com or mailto:maggiechristl@shaw.ca

Gem of Canada

Rise: Borealis Records - BCD-221
Jeremie Jones - Tony Spida - Debashis Sinha - Don Kerr - Fernando Rosa - Dina Cindric - Vivian Stoll
Toronto ON
Produced by Don Kerr with Annebelle Chvostek - 2012
Mixed by Roma Baran & Vivian Stoll
Recorded aty Rooster Studios, Toronto; MQGV Studios, Toronto & Montreal; Two Tomatoes Studio, NYC
Mastered by Harris Newman at Grey Market Mastering, Montreal

Oliver Schroer Off-Beat Award

5. PETUNIA & THE VIPERS: Mercy (R Fortugno)
Petunia & The Vipers: Trapline Productions - TRP-CD00103A/B
Jimmy Roy - Stephen Nikleva - Marc L'Esperance - Sam Shoichet
Vancouver BC
Produced by Petunia & Phil Sgriccia - 2011
Recorded at The Sound Factory & Heavyosonic by Phil Sgriccia
Mixed by Marc L'Esperance
Mastered by Bernie Grundman
http://www.petuniamusic.com or mailto:info(at)petuniamusic.dot.com

Steve's Favourite Album

6. DAVID GOGO: Slow It Down (D Gogo / J Riley / T Tweeton / D Paxton)
Soul-Bender: Cordova Bay - CBR 0942
Pat Steward - Doug Elliot - Rick Hopkins
Nanaimo BC
Produced by Michael Burke, David Gogo and Rick Salt - 2011
Recorded and mixed by Rick Salt at Lois Lane Studios, Nanaimo
Additional recorded by Jason Jaknuna at Metorpolitan Studios, Ottawa
and Hey Man Studio by Peter Gross, Lion's Bay BC
Mastered by Scott Lake at Metalworks Studios, Mississauga
http://www.davidgogo.com or http://www.twitter.com/@davidgogoblues

Producer Award - Joby Baker

7. THE BILLS: Blackberry Ivy & Broom (C Frye / M Atkinson)
Yes Please: The Bills Music - TDCD001
Marc Atkinson - Adrian Dolan - Chris Frye - Richard Moody - Joey Smith
Vancouver BC
Produced by Joby Baker - 2012
Recorded, mixed & mastered by Joby Baker at Baker Studios, Victoria BC
http://www.thebills.ca or mailto:management@thebills.ca

Lee Cremo Award

8. ART NAPOLEON: You Really Got A Hold On Me (S Robinson)
Creeland Covers: AN11
Marty Jones - Zak Cohen - Carsen Ogland - Niska Napoleon - Shakti Hayes - Beaver Thomas - Paul Keim - Thomas Kinzel
Victoria BC
Produced by Zak Cohen - 2010
Recorded by Zak Cohen at Woodshop Studio
Mastered by Joby Baker Studios
http://www.artnapoleon.com/ or mailto:artnapoleon@yahoo.ca

Great Canadian Song

9. MENDELSON JOE: I Am Canuckian (M Joe)
Canuckian: Ind.
Huntsville, ON
Produced by Mendelson Joe - 2012
Recorded by Andre Wahl
Mastered by Brock Fricker
http://www.mendelsonjoe.com/ or mailto:info@karenrobinsongallery.com

Song of the Year

10. WHITEHORSE: Peterbilt Coalmine (M McClellend - L Doucet)
The Fate of the World Depends on This Kiss: Six Shooter Records - SIX070
Luke Doucet - Melissa McClellend - Barry Mirochnick - Leon Furs
Toronto ON
Produced by Luke Doucet - 2012
Recorded & Mixed by Moon:and:6 at Catherine North Studios, Hamilton
Mastered by Phil Demetro at Lacquer Channel, Toronto

New Dragon Mine Award

11. SCARLETT JANE: Ride On (C Dooire / A Ramolo / S Fitzpatrick)
Stranger: Scarlett Jane - SJCD001
Andrea Ramolo - Cindy Doire - Garyk Craig - Greg Cockerill - Ryan Weber - Stew Crookes - Sara Fitzpatrick
Toronto ON
Produced by Stew Crookes - 2012
Recorded by Stew Crookes at The Woodshed Studio, Toronto
Mixed by Stew Crookes at Stewdio
Mastered by Joe Lambert Mastering, NYC
http://www.scarlettjane.com or mailto:scarlettjane@scarlettjane.com

Jack Hayes - Tom McQueston Award

12. SLOCAN RAMBLERS: Shakin Down The Acorns
Shaking Down The Acorns: Ind - 88581-54984-1
Frank Evans - Adrian Gross - Darryl Poulsen - Alastair Whitehead
Toronto ON
Produced by Andrew Collins - 2012
Recorded and Mixed by Andrew Collins at Sytesound
Mastered by David Travers-Smith
http://www.slocanramblers.com or mailto:Slocanramblers@gmail.com
Twitter: @slocanramblers

The Golden Quill Award for Songwriting

13. BARNEY BENTALL: L'Anse Aux Meadows (B Bentall)
Flesh & Bone: True North Records - TND 572
Rob Becker - Geoff Hicks - Rick Hopkins - Eric Reed
Vancouver BC
Produced by Barney Bentall & Adrian Dolan - 2012
Recorded and Mixed by Sheldon Zaharko
Recorded at The Warehouse, Vancouver
Mixed at Palais du bon Accord, Alberta
Mastered by Graemme Brown at Zen Mastering, Gabriola Island, BC


University of Toronto Radio Inc.                                 Memorial University, St. John's NL
 Wednesday at 5 pm ET                                                   Wednesdays at 1 pm NT